The Global Human: Social Comments

How do you perform your poems?

Posted in Poetry by Solveig Hansen on 2015/05/10

Watch and be inspired by Sarah Kay, a spoken word poet/performer. In this TED talk, she reads her amazing spoken word poem called B, written to her future daughter. It starts like this:

If I should have a daughter… ‘Instead of ‘Mom’, she’s gonna call me ‘Point B.’ Because that way, she knows that no matter what happens, at least she can always find her way to me. And I’m going to paint the solar system on the back of her hands so that she has to learn the entire universe before she can say ‘Oh, I know that like the back of my hand….’

What do YOU think?

